Main Street, Appleton Roebuck, York, North Yorkshire, YO23 7DN

01904 501906

Appleton Roebuck Primary School


The Appleton Roebuck Primary School Local Governing Body is made up of 7 governors.

All governors, with the exception of the Executive Headteacher, are appointed for a four year term. The Clerk to the Governing Body, Samantha Vince, supports the governors in an administrative and advisory capacity. When parent governor vacancies arise, details on the nomination process are sent to all parents in the school.

The local governing body is responsible for the conduct of our school, and must promote high standards of educational achievement at the school. It is the school’s accountable body and as such: 

  • provides a strategic view of the school by establishing a vision and setting the purpose and aims of the school within an agreed policy framework. It appoints and performance manages the Executive Headteacher, agreeing the school improvement strategy which includes setting statutory targets with supporting budgets and staffing structures;  
  • monitors and evaluates the work of the school by reviewing the performance of the Executive Headteacher, the effectiveness of the policy framework, progress towards targets, and the effectiveness of the school improvement strategy;   
  • signs off the self-evaluation process and responds to STARMAT school improvement services and Ofsted reports as necessary. In addition it holds the Executive Headteacher to account for the performance of the school and ensures that parents are involved, consulted and informed as appropriate, with information to the community being made available as required.  
  • is responsible for financial probity.

Within the STAR Multi Academy Trust, each Academy has a Local Governing Board (LGB) that supports the work of the Trust and the Academy. It has certain delegated authority to oversee the running of the school under the Scheme of Delegation as defined by the Trust Board of the STAR Multi-Academy Trust. The Register of Business Interests is available via the Trust Board website.

Click here to find out more.

Minutes of the LGB for each school are available on request from the School Office or

Governor Attendance Record

Awaiting Update - February 2024

Governor Responsibilities

Our Governors take on specific responsibilities relating to the school improvement plan which also doubles as the governor development plan and governor monitoring schedule.

Governor Business/Financial Interests 2023-2024

Now available on the STARMAT website.

Contacting the Chair of Governors - Mr Paul Wire

You can contact our Chair of Governors, Mr Paul Wire, by telephoning the main school office on 01904 501906.  Alternatively you can email

Alternatively, you can write to Paul.  His address is:

Chair of Governors, Appleton Roebuck Primary School, Main Street, Appleton Roebuck, York, YO23 7DN

Governing Body Structure 2022-2023

LGB Structure (Quorum: 50% Membership = 5 Governors)

Mr Paul Wire - Chair of Governors

Dr Charikleia Sinani

Mr David Boyes-Watson

Dr Claire Wensley

Rev Lucy Brencher

Mr Matthew Snowden

Mr Martyn Broom